sidewinder sv2 issues... SUCCESS! page 3

Discussion in 'Tamiya RC Monster Truck Forum' started by joe, Jul 23, 2011.

Help Support RCMT Network by donating:

Tags:
  1. Aug 8, 2011 #81

    northerngames

    northerngames

    northerngames

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    2,350
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    michigan
    I guess the hot glue sheet would not be too great for heat transfer though it would just burn'em up.

    there has to be something out there that could be apllied for waterproofing and heat transfer though.
     
  2. Aug 9, 2011 #82

    darkchylde415

    darkchylde415

    darkchylde415

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    dewitt, mi
    will posted it, get some liquid electrical tape and brush it on or dip it in that. squirrel has a vid on youtube basicly just take your esc plastic case off and then do the board and it will work fine. i did a couple of mine with plasti dip and that worked good too!!!
     
  3. Aug 9, 2011 #83

    thedoginthewok

    thedoginthewok

    thedoginthewok

    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bavaria
    Thanks guys.

    Now I just have to find out how this liquid electrical tape is called in german stores. Thats not always easy xD
     
  4. Aug 12, 2011 #84

    KingClod27

    KingClod27

    KingClod27

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Messages:
    2,323
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, Va
    So how is it running now? any cogging problems? What type of TX/RX do I need to look for? I planned on running a 1 battery setup in a terminator
     
  5. Aug 13, 2011 #85

    joe

    joe

    joe

    ɹoʇɐɹʇsıuıɯpɐ Site Administrator Super Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,924
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Smyrna, DE
    It's running just fine; no cogging at all.
    Check my build thread for video (brushless clod basher)
    I'm not sure what to recommend for radio gear...
    but I know that a spektrum dx3r works.
    :)
     
  6. Oct 25, 2011 #86

    dirtovalrich

    dirtovalrich

    dirtovalrich

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    deerstand in Illinois
    Has anyone tried this with a Spektrum DX3S???
     
  7. Oct 25, 2011 #87

    Jerry Matoon

    Jerry Matoon

    Jerry Matoon

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Corinth, NY
    According to the instruction manual online; the DX3S only mixes with the steering channel. But without the SV2's or a DX3S that is all I have to go on.

    Budhatrain's post in the y-harness thread mimics this issue with the DX3S.

    Spektrum has a DX3C that has mixing capabilities for the throttle channel:)

    Jerry
     
  8. Nov 30, 2011 #88

    william g

    william g

    william g

    Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    Messages:
    3,689
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    New England
    bump for sticky
     
  9. Jan 31, 2012 #89

    TurnMeOver

    TurnMeOver

    TurnMeOver

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did castle ever get this fixed or is it still an issue? I am utilizing my aux/3rd channel for something else so if the new systems still cant be run using a y cable then as much as it pains me to say it I may have to start looking for a new motor / esc comb. That would stink cause I love Castle's stuff.....
     
  10. Jan 31, 2012 #90

    Brian34

    Brian34

    Brian34

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,787
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Connecticut
    I'm still having an issue with my sv2. Its bumming me out :(
     
  11. Jan 31, 2012 #91

    ricrush

    ricrush

    ricrush

    WillG4prez!!

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,931
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nothern Illinois Northwest of Chicago


    Talked to them yesterday about it. They were in process with this subject. I am going to send them this thread right now. I am sending it to a different tech so hopefully a different light can be shed on it.



     
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2012
  12. Jan 31, 2012 #92

    northerngames

    northerngames

    northerngames

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    2,350
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    michigan
    I got mine wired up with no issue's using a splitter and no AUX port on my reciever.

    running dual sv2 dual 4600's bec pro 20 amp dual servo's off a single 5,000 MAH 40C 2S lipo.

    only fancy thing I needed to do was connect the bec to the pc and up the voltage to 6V and connected one esc to the pc to change the motor direction so they both spin the same but other then that I had no issue setting up a dual brushless.

    castle has seen this post and explained already what they thought was the issue they said some radio gear dont have enough signal power to handle two esc off one channel while others do.

    nobody said it was mandatory to have a aux port it's just a proven working method for the one's that dont have enough signal power on their radio gear.

    I did mine with a splitter and got away with it wich was also found it is possible to get them to work without the aux port but my gear must have enough power on the signal to run dual esc effectivly.

    I usa a tactic TTX404 4-channel set for full seperate 4WS.

    it's a $80.00 shipped off ebay special not the fanciest out there but it does everything I need and then some and am happy with the purchase's I run the same for my brushless Wk without issue also.
     
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2012
  13. Feb 1, 2012 #93

    TurnMeOver

    TurnMeOver

    TurnMeOver

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Eric! Be nice to get some final answers on this. Still annoys that we were running old style Sidewinders, on any radio with whatever servos (I was using dual JR z9100t's in some trucks), with NO BECs and they worked perfectly everytime. By the time you layout for a dual system you have some money on the table and this seems to have caught a lot of guys by surprise. I know I have been living off my stockpile of old systems but sooner or later that will run out.
     
  14. Apr 28, 2012 #94

    ZRP_Racing

    ZRP_Racing

    ZRP_Racing

    I am ZRP

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,469
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    Dual SV2 w/4600kV systems works fine with the DX3C. Using the mixing feature for the throttle with the Aux port. Firmware 1.30.
     
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2012
  15. Apr 29, 2012 #95

    northerngames

    northerngames

    northerngames

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    2,350
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    michigan
    castle has replied to me and th forums already on this.

    it comes down to your reciever's signal output strength.

    there is no way for castle to know what your radio gear output's and they cannot go out and buy them all just so they know what radio gear can and cannot do duel sv2's.

    it has nothing to to with the older sidewinder or the newer sv2 at all so no more worry's or stocking the old becuase really it has nothing to do with other's issue's.

    mine ran fine with a Y splitter using chepa tactic gear.

    another thing some have done that may be there is issue is feed there reciever 7.2V from a bec when little did they know the reciever has a 6v max like mine.

    so if you feed it that extra 1.2v who know's what it would do in the long run.

    mine is also all tied in to a single battery.

    I have the new traxxas link system 2.4ghz system to try just to see if it still works wich I am almost sure it will becuase of the new stronger 2.4hgz running through the pcb then more then likely everything else is more HD over the ol AM FM setup's crystals etc.
     
  16. Apr 29, 2012 #96

    808XD

    808XD

    808XD

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    I found success running dual rx's. I'm running a flysky gtb3 so rx's are dirt cheap when you can find them.
     
  17. Apr 30, 2012 #97

    northerngames

    northerngames

    northerngames

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    2,350
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    michigan
    where you running a single or duel battery?
     
  18. May 1, 2012 #98

    808XD

    808XD

    808XD

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Single
     
  19. Jul 23, 2012 #99

    Budhatrain

    Budhatrain

    Budhatrain

    Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,464
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NE Ohio
    FINALLY FINALLY FINALLY... I have been super frustrated with this issue but I followed the above formula and vola success! The myth is plausible. Oh so happy! Running a single 2s Lipo with no cogging on the line.
     
  20. Jul 23, 2012 #100

    Brian34

    Brian34

    Brian34

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,787
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Connecticut
    My sidewinder bit the dust the other day. I guess the minor issue I had been having with cogging, was worse then I thought. I was driving my truck the other day, and it was going across the lawn when I heard an audible poof ! Followed by a small puff of white smoke. No visible outside damage. The controller still worked from what I could see, but hitting the throttle brought more smoke. Upgrading to the Mamba Max Pro this week.