Brushless clod advice

Discussion in 'Tamiya RC Monster Truck Forum' started by InitialVic, May 15, 2010.

Help Support RCMT Network by donating:

  1. May 15, 2010 #1

    InitialVic

    InitialVic

    InitialVic

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    So I thought I would be happy with a couple of 15T firebolt motors in my clod. I was wrong. :) What are you guys running in your clods? 4600kvs and sidewinders? I bought a mmp, but I am thinking I should sell that off and get a couple of ez-run 60a + 5.5T or 8.5Ts since a couple motors and another mmp would be as much as 2 ezruns. Anybody know of any problems running the 2 ezruns with a splitter? Is the 5.5T too much?
     
  2. May 15, 2010 #2
    2 sidewinders would be a better choice because you can dial them in with a PC

    Motors, any brand really, but the traxxas VXL motors are very dependable, GOBS of torque and run very cool.
     
  3. May 16, 2010 #3

    Bubbabaxter

    Bubbabaxter

    Bubbabaxter

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orrtanna, PA
    I run sidewinders with 4600kv castle motors and it is a great setup for bashing. You get nice torque, speed, and cool operating temperatures. On the other hand though, if you don't want to spend that kind of money right now, I would look for a nicer quality 15t. Those firebolts are dogs. They have no torque and honestly don't have much more top end than a tamiya sport tuned motor. That's just my experience though. I'm sure others may vary.
     
  4. May 16, 2010 #4

    InitialVic

    InitialVic

    InitialVic

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    Any recommendations? Brushed motors are getting harder and harder to come by. If I could get something to hold me over for a little bit I would probably do that. I've only have about $11 in the firebolts since I had one from my Sprint 2 :p
     
  5. May 16, 2010 #5

    a69baldone

    a69baldone

    a69baldone

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
  6. May 16, 2010 #6

    Brian34

    Brian34

    Brian34

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,787
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Well,

    I have a 3500kv Traxxas Velineon brushless motor in my Ground Pounder.
    My truck is a single motor truck and it Gets Up And Goes!
    The Velineon is a sweeeet motor.
    If 1 is this awesome, 2 in a Clod would be off the page awesome !
     
  7. May 17, 2010 #7

    InitialVic

    InitialVic

    InitialVic

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    This is what I was originally thinking about getting. I am not sure what if any headaches I would have trying to setup 2 with a Y splitter. Maybe I will pick up another 8.5T and borrow the one from my GP to test. If it works out I can pick up a motor for my GP and use the MMP in there. Hmm that sounds like a plan! :tmb
     
  8. May 17, 2010 #8

    a69baldone

    a69baldone

    a69baldone

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would think they would work out good since they are fully programable with the program card..You should be able to dial the front and back motors pretty nice.
    Make the "Y" harness with deans on all 3 ends so if you have to replace a esc..The esc's are pretty affordable by them selfs also. At around $50 or less new.
    I was going to go with a brushed setup in my clod project but this is looking a lot more toward the way to go..IMO
     
  9. May 17, 2010 #9

    OSRC

    OSRC

    OSRC

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Looking at THESE motors for my clod: 3800kv, performance should be close to that of the VXL motors, maybe a little less torque, but not too far off. Biggest point: they are nearly $30 cheaper each. Been digging around, haven't heard anything bad about them to this point. Might be a nice option for you.
     
  10. May 17, 2010 #10

    Budhatrain

    Budhatrain

    Budhatrain

    Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,464
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NE Ohio
    tower hobbies is selling the sidewinders 5700 setup for $129 a piece ($260 total). If your a super saver member you can get $50 off that price plus free shipping. So for $210 your getting two sidewinders + free shipping. I think you will need to buy the programming link which is another $20. I have always been taught it's doesn't cost that much more to go first class.

    The 4600 is only $149ea which will add up to $300 + 20 for programming link- but when over $300 supermember gets you $60 off plus free shipping and your only like $260 for this setup.

    To me that's not that much more of a difference for a setup that everyone pretty much likes.

    Let's say your not a tower super member- I think the membership is only $10year. You get these coupons all the time for up to $60 off. Free shipping over $150 orders. Plus you get three free issue of RC Car- You can't beat it IMO.
     
  11. May 17, 2010 #11

    william g

    william g

    william g

    Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    Messages:
    3,689
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    New England
    In the ''Salute To The Troops'' Clod I put 2 of these 3000kv motors and some aileon (sp?) ESC's very much like the hobby wing 60a but these are supposedly rated at 80amps.

    I put deans on each ESC and then made a removable jumper cable to connect the battery. I soldered on Castle 4mm bullets so later on if they want to swap things around it'll be easirr.

    I just drove it once indoors to test, but acceleration was excellent lifting 1 front wheel and the brakes stopped it perfectly. A short stop without a nose flip.

    Great thing is it will easily handle a 3s lipo if the winner wants to go even faster.

    I would have rather gone with the Traxxas VXL's but the cost is higher and I had a build budget to stick to.
     
  12. May 17, 2010 #12

    Yourtheman

    Yourtheman

    Yourtheman

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    0
    when you plug 2 motor on 1 Speed, 1 lipo 3s is it enought to run and if yes how much time can you get it?

    thx
     
  13. May 17, 2010 #13

    Ball Racing

    Ball Racing

    Ball Racing

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    VA
    Run time will be based on surface run on,
    how much full throttle is used.
    The quality, and MAH of the battery, and gearing, and truck weight.
     
  14. May 24, 2010 #14

    justinsrad98

    justinsrad98

    justinsrad98

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    4600 or 5700 brushless?

    I'm afraid the 4600 set up will disapoint me. I will be running a 3s lipo with it...

    5700 will be faster in speed with less acceleration? Am I correct?
     
  15. May 24, 2010 #15

    Yourtheman

    Yourtheman

    Yourtheman

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    0
    if we calculate the RPM,

    7.2 x 4600 = 34040

    11.1 x 4600 = 51060

    7.4 x 5700 = 41440

    11.1 x 5600 = 62160

    Depends also what rate 'C' you will take.....
     
  16. May 24, 2010 #16

    oxide80

    oxide80

    oxide80

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gorham, Maine
    From what the people on this site have told me if you want to run a 20c LiPo I should have 2 odf them, one for each ECS's
    Ijust set up my clod with a 5700's and Sidewinder ECS's, I'm still experimenting with mine too. I ended up running a sigle 35C 6400 mAh and it seems to do just fine. The 5700's seems to be plenty fast on 2 cells, Not sure what 3 would be like
     
  17. May 24, 2010 #17

    nosyajg

    nosyajg

    nosyajg

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oahu, Hawaii
    4600 on 3s is more than enuff...i'm sure any of the hawaii guys will vouch for that...i was running a max amps 6500 3s rated at 35c...

    it's what i used to run in our outlaw class...i now moved down to 2s to control it a bit better...waiting on my 2s 40c lipos to come in, as the 20-30c lipos lose a bit of punch for the dual motors..

    i kept breaking/bending parts on the 3s with the 4600s...the punch control was also set to 70%, to help keep it from just flipping over right off the start...
     
  18. May 26, 2010 #18

    oxide80

    oxide80

    oxide80

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gorham, Maine
    Castle BL motor temp question

    Whats the max temp recommended for a Castle 5700 motor? Runnign dual 5700's with Sidewinder ECS's. No problems with temp when I was running NiMh batteries, but now with LiPo the rear motor gets up to 145 degress. Obviously the LiPo has tons of more power and the rear motor works the hardest. The Rear ECS is getting up to 132 degrees. Im using a MSA Thermal Imaging Camera to get my readings. My battery stays cool. The front motor/ecs stay cool, never getting over 110. Is the 145/132 any thing to be concerned about? Shouls I start thnking about gearing down, heat sinks, or cooling fans???
     
  19. May 26, 2010 #19

    CrumpleZ0ne

    CrumpleZ0ne

    CrumpleZ0ne

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SF Bay Area, CA
    they say don't let it go over 200F I think... you're in the warm range but still very safe imo.. personally I have gotten some of my motors to 175F and that's about where I start to get uncomfortable..
     
  20. May 26, 2010 #20

    william g

    william g

    william g

    Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    Messages:
    3,689
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    New England
    Most people will tell you to try to stay below 160-180 degrees on the motors depending on the brand. The rotor can become disloged or loose on the shaft from heat ruining the bond.

    Put a heat sink on the rear motor, they can be found very cheap, nitrorcx has them under 5 bucks. http://www.nitrorcx.com/51c00-03300.html
     

Share This Page